complete details of how to apply for Uganda's electronic tourist visa

Effective July 2016, in order to gain entry into Uganda, all visitors must first pre-apply for a visa online. Do this at least 2 weeks before you arrive in Uganda.

In order to complete the application in one sitting, you’ll need:

  • A copy of the bio data page of your passport. Make sure your passport is valid for at least 6 months beyond your arrival date.
  • Yellow Fever Vaccination Certificate.
  • A recent passport sized photo.

Have these ready to upload. There’s currently no way to save your changes and come back later.

Visit and click “Start New Application”.

Page 1:

Under visa or permit type, click “visa”.

Under category, click “Uganda ordinary/tourist visa.

Under subcategory, click “single entry”.

Page 2:

Enter your personal data.

When you get to Other data, your contact person in Uganda will be someone connected to The Real Uganda. We’ll let you know who that is once you’re accepted into our program.

Your purpose of visit is Tourism.

Your length of stay is expressed in days. Choose according to how long you wish to stay. The maximum is 90 days.

Page 3:

Upload your documents.

Page 4:

Review and submit.

If all goes well, after submission, you will get an Application Received email with tracking code. Once you’re totally approved, you’ll get an Application Approved email with bar-coded Approval Letter attached. Print the letter and keep it with your passport and air ticket.

On arrival at Entebbe International Airport, you’ll hand over the Approval Letter with originals of the documents you uploaded. The customs official will issue the actual visa in your passport. You’ll pay the $50 tourist visa fee at that time*.

Welcome to Uganda!

Before you volunteer in Africa, you must arrange your tourist visa

  • If you come from COMESA countries (Angola, Comoros, Eritrea, Malawi, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe), EAC countries (Tanzania, Rwanda, Kenya,  Burundi) or Antigua, Barbados, Bahamas, Belize, Cyprus, Fiji, Gambia, Grenada, Ireland, Jamaica, Hong Kong, Lesotho, Malta, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, St. Vincent-Tonga, The Grenadines, or Vanuatu, you will not pay any fee for your visa on arrival.